Solano Ave’s gem from the past: Burger Depot

BD menu

Burger Depot is not new or hip. It doesn’t have kale chips or feature Neiman Ranch beef. And it doesn’t have any gimmicks. It’s just an old-fashioned family diner with a huge whiteboard menu above the counter that serves up chili, fries, sandwiches, milkshakes, and practically any kind of burger you can think of (including salmon, turkey, and lamb) at low prices in a friendly atmosphere.

The south wall features a bulletin board of faded photos—regular patrons who have come back year after year. The man of the older couple that has owned and run the business for 35 years proudly remarked that some customers who were brought there as children now returned with their own families.

And this same gentleman took our order at the counter and served us. (I’m fairly certain that he’s also the one who prepared all our food. I could hear him behind the counter happily humming along with “The Charlie Brown” theme song a la Vince Guaraldi as it played over the sound system.)BD cheeseburger

The order of fries was definitely big enough for Dave and me to split, and it was only $1.95. My 1/4 pound burger was just the right size, and at $4.25, it was just the right price too. And as George said, “It’s a pretty decent burger!”

BD choc sodaI saw chocolate soda on the menu, and I had to order one. My diet took a backseat to nostalgia as I splurged on a treat that I hadn’t had since my college days. There were all imaginable flavors of milkshakes too.

We sat next to the big window, where we got in some good people-watching and enjoyed leisurely conversation.

I felt an immediate fondness for the place that I can’t quite explain, but I’m sure I’ll find my way back to Burger Depot.

Leave a Reply

