Tackling the where-does-the-time-go syndrome

colorful alarm clocks I work part-time and no longer have young children afoot, so I really have no excuse when it comes to completing my to-do list in a timely manner. But I often reach the end of the week and wonder why I haven’t accomplished more. Where does the time go? I don’t think I’m unrealistic in my goals, but many remain just out of reach.

So this week I’m going to track everything I do. (Don’t worry–I won’t bore you by recounting it in full detail.) It will be like a budget for my time. Back when I taught elementary school, I could easily account for just about any minute of the day. What was I doing at 8:45 am? I was sitting in a circle with my students going over the schedule for the day and checking in with them. What about at 10:00? Easy–I was either using the restroom, checking my box in the teachers’ lounge, or standing out on yard duty.

recording chartBut working at home with a flexible schedule means that any given morning, I might be at the gym, at the grocery store, or finishing up laundry from the weekend. Oh, and I might even be copyediting or proofing, which is what I do for a living. Or I could very well be in my pajamas reading the Chronicle. (Yes, Virginia, there is still such a thing as a newspaper.)

I’m a tad fearful of what I may find out, but I plan to bravely record it all, which should provide me with the proper fodder for future planning. After I analyze the week’s data, I’ll be sure to write up what I learned so that you too, dear reader, may benefit from my experience if you suffer from the same syndrome.

Wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

