For 2016, I’m replacing resolutions with a theme

letting go balloon
Getty image

I’ve made the same new year’s resolutions time and time again: get organized, get fit, lose weight, write every day, read more books, yada yada yada.

I’m going for a slightly different approach this year. It’s not that I don’t still need to get organized and fit, and I would like to write more regularly and read more. But just saying I would do those things didn’t seem to make an impression on the part of me that’s responsible for the action of carrying them out.

So rather than a list of resolutions, I’m setting up a theme for myself, under which sub-categories of various sorts might work their way into my lifelong quest of self-improvement.

And what is that theme? Letting go.

I’m going to try to keep it simple. Unwanted habits, excess pounds, space-hogging paperwork, maybe even unrealistic expectations–they’re all prime candidates for letting go. My motto this year will be “Less is more.”

It’s worth a try. And maybe by this time next year, there will be less of whatever gets in the way of me being the happiest possible version of myself. Not that I’m currently unhappy–quite the contrary. But it sometimes feels like I’m trying to hold on to too much stuff, both material and emotional. So I envision a lighter me for 2017. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “For 2016, I’m replacing resolutions with a theme

Leave a Reply

