Goodbye, Seattle–I love your art!

img_2219
This mural is on the side of the Southwest Seattle Senior Center on South Holly.
img_2222
At Cheap Chickadee Thrift Store
img_2203
a tile in someone’s front yard

 

Seattle was lots of fun!

Besides beautiful walks, an amazing central library, an improv show, some great food, and engaging company, I saw a lot of art.

 

I enjoyed the Henry Art Gallery (especially James Turrell’s Light Reign), but I loved discovering so much public art and the various forms it took. Peeking from behind street signs I saw a variety of colorful pieces.

img_2208
These whimsical creatures are the products of Vikram Madan’s colorful imagination.
img_2214
I’m assuming it says “Greatness Starts Here,”but it could be something else…
img_2190
Just off a south Seattle street is this figure. All color comes from flattened soda cans.
img_2196
In Seward Park near the playground

Update on Miniature Mobility: I wasn’t able to see the last piece because it had been stolen and not yet replaced when I returned home to Berkeley. But the artist herself assured me it would be more theft-proof and would be back up today (Wednesday). So if you live in the Seattle area, go find it!img_2206-2

 

 

Okay, this sign in someone’s yard isn’t art, but I enjoyed it anyway.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

