Action can be kinda fun!

A group of pleasant, like-minded Berkeleyites gathered at an office in south Berkeley to write postcards last night as part of the national #IdesofTrump movement to let 45 know how we’re feeling.

Indivisible Berkeley supplied lots of pre-addressed postcards, which made it go much faster. The first few hundred were pre-stamped as well. We kept writing as someone went out to buy more stamps, and volunteers were at the ready to apply postage to all the unstamped ones, so they would all be mailed today, the Ides of March.

Some folks brought their own cards, so there was a true variety represented, including photos of people forming the word “RESIST!!” on the beach to kittens telling off Donald in their own cute way.

Some people wrote a little, and some wrote a lot. Artistic types drew pictures. At first, some seemed hesitant, unsure of what exactly they were supposed to write and whether they were supposed to sign their names or not. But once the ink got flowing, it was hard to stop. Mostly, we wrote in silence until someone new would show up and we welcomed them, or someone left and we wished them well in their future resistance efforts. Occasionally people shared the contents of their postcards and snapped photos for their Facebook pages.

I started out thinking I would just come up with something pithy and stick to it–that probably being the most efficient method. But writing became cathartic, and I found myself using words to express my frustration, despite the knowledge that 45 would never actually see my words.

Sometimes I was to the point.

“Resign already!”

Sometimes I just wrote what was in my head.

“If I said ‘pretty, pretty please,’ would you go away?”

Sometimes I even got personal.

“You are mean, and I don’t like you, even a little bit.”

And occasionally I put on my educator hat.

“You make bad choices, Donald. If you were a schoolyard bully, I could talk to you. But unfortunately you’re president, so you just need to resign.

signed, a teacher”

I’m willing to admit that I was starting to have fun. One of the last ones I wrote was kind of mean.

“I know you don’t know how to read, but please find someone to read this to you: It’s time to go home now.”

It’s not too late–send your postcard today. It feels really good. To see others, go to IB’s Facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

