Al tells the future like it is

I haven’t yet started the book, but I already believe it.

Al Gore 2

On Wednesday I was the envy of my 20-year old daughter because I got to hear Al Gore speak at Dominican College in San Rafael. I was pretty lucky that I got to see him because I didn’t buy tickets in advance, and they sold out. But optimist that I am, I stood in the “standby line” while I ate my tostada salad and gained entrance 15 minutes before the official event began. I got a good spot in the middle of the second row in the balcony..

Al Gore has written the book The Future: Six Drivers of Global Change. But he didn’t read from it. In fact he didn’t even use notes. He abandoned the podium almost immediately and actively walked the stage while he spoke passionately and knowledgeably about the six emerging forces that will affect all of us. And even though his presentation was polished and he spoke with confidence, it didn’t feel at all canned. I know he’s on a speaking circuit—I just saw him on The Daily Show too—but he included very recent news items, so this wasn’t a cookie-cutter speech that he’s been telling the same way for months. He had a lot of facts at his fingertips, but he didn’t try to drown us in sensational stats. Al Gore struck a great balance of communicating with intelligence and reason but also sounding like a favorite uncle sharing some earth-shattering news with you.

He covered as much as he could in about an hour and then answered audience questions for another 25 minutes or so. He gave each question careful consideration and answered thoughtfully and honestly.

I haven’t yet started the book, but I already believe it.

As I was listening to him, I thought what a shame it was that he was robbed of the presidency when George Dubya took office due to some fishy Florida chads. He most likely would have made a great president. But then he probably wouldn’t have been able to accomplish as much as he has in the last eight years. It’s a tough call…

Author: Tanya Grove

Tanya Grove is an educator and writer who has also penned a number of children's books (though none have been published). She teaches 2nd and 3rd graders at Aurora School in Oakland, CA. She has had five short plays produced as script-in-hand readings on the Berkeley Rep stage, as well as one produced for San Francisco's Pint-sized Play Festival, one performed at the Ohlone Playwright Festival, and one produced two years in a row by Three Girls Theatre. She lives in Berkeley, CA with her amazing husband, Dave; her friend/housemate, Stacey; two adorable pups, Ruby and Ziggy; and her kitty, Rumpus.

Leave a comment